top of page


The Learning Journey is to celebrate your child’s learning and development and the achievements that they make at pre-school. We will send this book home every half-term and your child can draw, write or stick in a photo of the things that they like to do. When you receive this book please can you ensure that it is returned back to us within one week so that we can continue to add to it.

Here at Abacus we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) guidance which sets the standards for learning, development and Ccre for children from birth to five. The EYFS consists of seven areas of learning and development which your child’s learning will be linked to throughout this book. The areas are:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  2. Communication and Language (CL)

  3. Physical Development (PD)

  4. Literacy (L)

  5. Mathematics (M)

  6. Understanding the World (UTW)

  7. Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

If you would like any further information on the EYFS or on how your child is developing at Abacus then please do not hesitate to speak to your child’s key person, who will be more than happy to answer any questions that you may have.

You can also find a ‘Parents Guide to the EYFS’ available to download at: Alternatively, your child’s key person would happily share the Guide with you.

bottom of page